The measures announced ‘out of the blue’ this morning will affect nine airlines from eight countries including Dubai, Egypt, Saudi Arabia and Qatar – due to ‘unspecified terrorism threats’.

PM’s spokesman: passengers not allowed in plane cabin with phones, laptops or tablets larger than 16cm in length, 9.3cm width & 1.5cm depth

Mobile phones are exempt – although it is not immediately clear what it will mean for owners of iPads.

 This will apply to inbound flights to the UK from the following locations:

  • Turkey
  • Lebanon
  • Egypt
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Jordan
  • Tunisia

The US has stated the decision to introduce the ban is based on “evaluated intelligence”.

Leave a Reply